British Virgin Islands

The British Virgin Islands consist of 36 islands and only 16 of them are inhabited. The main islands are Tortola (55, Virgin Gorda and Jost Van Dyke.


St. Martin

Like most islands in the region, St. Martin was discovered by Christopher Columbus’ expedition in 1493. At first, the Spaniards showed no interest in the island, and so, shortly after, it became the bone of contention for the French and the Dutch, who ended up dividing it between their two territories. In 1648, they joined forces to keep the Spanish at bay and secured this Caribbean paradise for themselves.


St. Barths

St. Barths, a tiny island famous for its sugar white beaches and celebrity holidaymakers, is located 200 km to the north of Guadeloupe. Until 2007, when it accomplished separation through a referendum, St. Barths was included in France’s overseas department of Guadeloupe.

Subscribe to this RSS feed